Ten Smith Station athletes sign scholarships

By Chad Dixon 

Smiths Station High School honored ten student athletes on Feb. 1 on National Signing Day. Each student participated in a signing ceremony with several students, faculty, parents and coaches at the high school gymnasium. Smiths Station Athletic Director Sherry Paysinger emceed the event. Smiths Station Mayor Fred Copeland, Jr. was on hand to give a message to the students as well. Academy Sports and Outdoors’ Cody Reid presented $1000 in gift cards to the baseball and softball programs to assist with equipment which was destroyed by a late January tornado. 

Myra Mack was honored for her track and field performance. She will be attending Auburn University. Three softball players signed from Smiths Station. Shortstop Abi Webb signed with Anderson University (South Carolina). She batted .342 with six doubles and 12 stolen bases in 2015. Outfielder Gabie LeFranc signed with Birmingham Southern. She posted a .260 batting average during her junior season. Signing with Chattahoochee Valley Community College is right-handed pitcher Savannah Bussey. 

Airen Brooks has been a main key to Smiths Station basketball’s 20-7 record during the 2016-2017 season; he signed with Columbus State University. Brooks is a Bryant Jordan Award nominee, Vestavia Hills Sneaky Pete Classic MVP and had the 2015 highest GPA for the boys’ basketball team. He has scored over 450 points and has over 180 rebounds in his senior season. 

Smiths Station Wrestling sent a pair of wrestlers to the next level. A.J.Phillips and Kaleb Fontenot will be attending Huntingdon College. Phillips is a two-time state qualifier, finished first in every tournament his senior year and finished 2016 with a 42-2 record. Fontenot was 34-6 in his senior year. 

Kalysia Bates, Kennedy Watford and Rebekah Derdoski will be playing volleyball at the collegiate level. Bates will be attending Charleston Southern. She was selected to the AHSAA All-Star Team and was named All Bi-City Offensive Player of the Year. Watford will be headed to Wallace-Hanceville. She was nominated to the All-Area Team. Derdowski will be attending Huntingdon College.